top of page

Whats In Store This Decade? 2020 Goals, Events, and More at Keepers Vintage

To be honest, New Years resolutions are a puzzle to me.


I mean, let's be honest. If you were really going to do it- you would just do it. Eating right, working out, and self improvement work best when you do them as soon as possible. I have never believed in having a start date to do the things that you know are right for you.





That being said, I have had a slight change of mind this year. Its a whole new decade and it's made me more analytical about growth I have made, where I thought I'd be by now, and where I would like to go in the next 10 years of life, god willing. That could also be because January brings another special date for me. This will be the birthday that welcomes the last year in a personal decade for me- the time known as my 30s!



I wouldn't say that I have resolutions, but I will say I have have learned some things in my 30s that I want to guide me into the next decade and beyond.


Here are my top 3:



1. Give More


My 30s taught me that I can be a giver. My 20s involved loads of self indulgence and was an excellent decade. But in my 30s, I became an educator and became a mom. Im not sure if there has ever been more giving roles than these. In my last year in my 30s, I want to finish strong. When I left the classroom, I promised myself that I would still find ways to help children and teachers in my city. However giving as a mom and running two stores has left little time or energy to do much else. Its time to change that.


This month we will be fundraising and asking for donations of school supplies to give local classrooms during the time that these things are often forgotten. Donations can be made at either Keepers location or monetarily through our facebook campaign. If you would like to help, please donate here.




2. Celebrate Myself


I believe my entire 20s was spent celebrating. I celebrated everything. When I turned 30, I even had 3 parties as a tribute to each decade I had been alive. I never said I wasn't extra (insert shoulder shrug emoji here). I don't believe in regrets too much either, but I will say, I have let five years in business and opening a second location go without much of a hoopla. If you have been in business for any length of time, you can probably agree that these are big accomplishments. I am sorry I did that. My Hampden location has been open for SEVEN months and I haven't formally invited the people who love me and I love back to help me celebrate. Its important to celebrate, share, and inspire.




3. Find and Promote Balance and Community


I am going to just admit it.


I am not balanced.


There. I said it. Now everyone knows.


But the truth is I want to be. I need to be. These days, I have a lot of people depending on me and the decisions I make. Way more than in my 20s lol. I tend to put everything else in front of being intentional about breaks and me time. Also, I must admit being buried under the work that comes with two stores has given me less time to socialize, break bread, have girl talk, be creative, develop relationships, and the list goes on. Cheers to you if you feel balanced and whole, but at 38, I am currently cheap, crumbly white bread in an aisle of whole wheat.


As a precursor to my next personal decade, I want to use my space as an oasis for others who feel like me. I miss the heck out of my community.


This year, look for plenty of workshops, events, parties, and just general all out get togethers. We are working to bring you more ways to connect with us and each other because no matter how far technology advances us or what decade we are in- human contact and love are what make us who we are. Follow along as we begin to build our calendar here


I have learned. I have grown. And so have you. I have made mistakes for sure, but I won't dwell on them because they were necessary to get me where I am right now. Today, I am (almost) another year wiser and I can't really ask for more than that.





Whats your vision for the next decade? Let me know in the comments. The more we think and learn together, the more we grow. Leave your reply in the comments and Thank you for teaching us in advance.



With Gratitude,


Erica

Keepers Vintage




53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page