top of page

Growing A Business: The Pain and the Gain.

So you want to be an entrepreneur?


After opening my vintage shop on Read Street in the Mount Vernon neighborhood of Baltimore, I was satisfied. After all, I had quit my job in education. I was recognized as a successful shop owner by my peers. This was actually the third location I had operated my shop and finally, it felt like home.


So why on earth would I go through this grueling process again? Opening a store looks cute and all, but it is a crap ton of work. It is far from cute, especially if you have to do a lot of DIY. It is stressful financially, physically, mentally, and emotionally. After the first shop, I had declared I didn't want another shop, but sometimes it is not exactly about what you want and more about what makes sense.


The new Keepers Vintage is located in the Hampden neighborhood of Baltimore. It is home to many vintage shops and is a mecca if you are looking for vintage clothes in Baltimore. As a business owner, its always ideal to be where the clients are looking for what you sell. I had no plans to move or expand, however when I drove past this vacant space on 36th Street in Hampden, it just made sense. I was finding so much great vintage and was running out of space in my small shop on Read Street. The Hampden location has so much space. Sometimes when there aren't plans, don't be afraid to create some! I went home and crunched numbers endlessly. It was tight, but with the help of my family and friends- we made it happen.


You may also wonder why I didn't just move. It was an option- however, as a small business owner, I understand the value of relationships. Our flagship, Mt. Vernon location is one that is centralized around community. We have created our own little mecca there with other great businesses around us and more coming soon. So, we decided to stay.


I didn't think I was built to manage all of this. I thought two stores would be too stressful and just too much, but so far, in the midst of some added stress, I have also found more encouragement, more happy customers, more admirers who are encouraged to also follow their dreams.... hahaha and more space! That, my friends makes so much sense. We are going to work this, so please stay tuned for the journey.


Visit us today! In TWO locations.


Keepers Vintage

229 W. Read Street

Baltimore, MD 21201


AND


Keepers Vintage

805 W. 36th Street

Baltimore, MD 21211


Online Revamp Very soon so no matter where you are, you can join in the fun!


Until next time,

XOXO

Erica









54 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page