top of page

International Women's Day Post- Working with Women




A good male friend of mine often proclaims that women don't work well together.


I always roll my eyes in irritation whenever he says this.


I will not lie. I have had drama in work relationships with women in the past. I have had businesses fail, because I and my cowers/ friends didn't see eye to eye. Yet, I can not be an advocate for the notion that women do not work well together. In fact, I know that we can and we are better and stronger when we work together. How do I know? Whats the secret? Here are three simple rules for protecting friendships while you mind your business.





1. Establish boundaries.

Like any relationship, collaboration should be a two way street. Know yourself first. Have a plan for what you need and don't need AND what your business needs. My previous failed businesses thought me that I work best alone when it comes to decisions that will directly affect me. I am the only member in Keepers Vintage, LLC. However, I attribute the success of my business to the ability to collaborate with other business women. Coming to the table as my own entity helps me to be clear on what types of agreements and situations I can agree to. If a project isn't aligned with my vision for Keepers, it is not for me. If I were in a partnership, my advise would be similar. Know what you need for your own life before you begin making decisions together.




2. Compliment Each Other.

Because all women want to feel beautiful.... no thats not what I mean. When partnering or collaborating, make sure you each bring something to the table. Its always a super bonus if you have skills that are different from one another. My store, Keepers Vintage shares space with KSM Candle Company. We are so different and so alike in so many ways. I came from a retailing background, so I knew a lot about merchandising and staffing. Working with Letta has given me insight to so many behind the scenes business operations like marketing and branding. No one has everything, but the one thing we both needed and rely on is a strong work ethic. Its quite hard to partner with people who do not have similar aspirations and act on them. While you can still find ways to support and grow with people who may not be at a similar place in their business, you may not want to form true partnerships just yet.




3. Be Social.

Women are historically tribal, social creatures. To my irritating male friend, this means women have always worked best together. We are communicators and I believe even when we disagree, we can always rise above situations that arise. Cultivate the mentality of sisterly love and bonding. Take a chill break together. Listen to each other. Laugh together. Celebrate the fact that you are women; you are strong, and you can totally build empires- together.



Happy International Woman's Day. I hope your families, friendships, and businesses grow and thrive. I have been inspired by so many strong women- Thank you!







50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page